holdingdownthehome

Life as a military wife and mother

Favorite Cleaning Items February 11, 2011

Filed under: Cleaning — holdingdownthehome @ 08:21
Tags: , , , ,

This is going to be a quick post but I wanted to share a few cleaning items I couldn’t live with out. If you know me, you know I try to be as GREEN as possible without going insane. So, one thing I NEVER buy is paper towels. For the kitchen I use REAL towels. I usually go through 2 a day. For cleaning things like windows and mirrors instead of paper towels I use Flylady‘s Rag in a Bag:

Honestly these are the MOST AWESOME cleaning tool I have used. I have used and washed them countless time and they still look like new. And one of the best things about them is I don’t have to use ANY glass cleaner! My windows and mirrors sparkle with just a little water. I couldn’t live without them now.

My favorite cleaner? WHITE VINEGAR! I use this to clean just about everything around my house. I really don’t like using a lot of chemicals. White vinegar is 99.9% effective in killing bacteria. Plus it’s safe for my son and my dog. There are so many uses for it I can’t even name them all. I use it cut 50/50 with water for mopping, cleaning and shining stove top and sink, cleaning the little boy messes around the toilet. The list goes on and on! Have a grungy shower head or sink faucet? Put straight white vinegar in a ziploc and use a rubberband to put it on the faucet or showerhead and leave overnight. Then just rinse in the morning. No more gook and you’ll feel like you just bought a brand new showerhead!

If you like this post let me know and I will be sure to share more vinegar cleaning tips with you in the near future!

 

2 Responses to “Favorite Cleaning Items”

  1. Kit Williams Says:

    Please post more vinegar cleaning ideas….very intriguing…

  2. JC Says:

    Another saved post of yours! I LOVE all of the tips you share. I’ve been trying to convince Hubbs to let me go crazy at the FlyLady store so maybe this will convince him.


Leave a Reply

