holdingdownthehome

Life as a military wife and mother

My family and my home January 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — holdingdownthehome @ 17:47
Tags: , , , , ,

Well let’s see where I can start….

A little about me: I’m almost 29 years old, and am married to my hero, who is in the Army. We are stationed at Fort Drum, NY. Before you gasp, I’ll tell you I grew up here so I’m used to the cold and snow. And am extremely lucky because almost all of my family is here. Not many military spouses are so blessed! We have a son who will be 3 in March and keeps me BUSY! We have a beautiful mastiff dog who is a year old and so sweet! I stay at home with my son, something I never thought I would do. I am SLOWLY working on a college degree online. I am a great mom and a terrible housekeeper! LOL But I’m working on it. My husband has made a big different in my life and everything I do, it’s for him and our son.

I tried a blog a few months ago but it fizzled out pretty quickly, probably because I didn’t really have a direction. This time is a little different. See, I’m a military wife and we’re getting ready for another deployment next month. For those who don’t know what that it, my husband will be leaving for about a year to do whatever it is they do in those deserts. In the almost 8 years we’ve been married this is our fourth deployment of a year or more.  Not to mention trainings and schools and field time that he is gone. Is it easy? Not by a long shot! Is it worth it? Depends on the day you ask me that. Am I proud of my husband? How could I not be? Will we keep doing it? You betcha! And I’ll be here taking care of this front, while he’s over there taking care of that one.

So I thought a blog would be fun and give me something to do while he’s gone (not that I don’t have  a lot to do). Plus, maybe I can help someone else while I’m at it. I’m hoping to write about a lot of different topics mostly dealing with your home and staying sane while doing it! This isn’t just for those who read this but for me as well… to keep my mind on track and keep my priorities where they should be. It’s a work in progress so bare with me while I figure this out. I would LOVE feedback on what things I should write or what you would like to talk about. This is not just for military spouses, but for that wife that wants to save money on dinner while still making healthy meals, who wants to get the most out of coupons but not spend hours a week doing it, and for those that need a little help to keep themselves and their household organized (which we ALL need a little help with now and again). By doing this it makes me accountable, too.

I hope I can bring you lots of great info and make it FUN! It’s going to be a GREAT year!

 

2 Responses to “My family and my home”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I’ve never seen this version of blogging. I like the different format! Looking forward to hearing what’s going on in your world 😉

  2. JC Says:

    I just started a blog as well in hopes of organizing my life and kicking my lazy butt into gear.


Leave a Reply

