holdingdownthehome

Life as a military wife and mother

Once a Month Cooking for Weight Watchers June 25, 2011

Filed under: Dinner Bell is Ringing!,Frugal living,Organization,Uncategorized — holdingdownthehome @ 19:46

I’m still new to blogging so I’m working on narrowing down the scope of this blog. One focus I would like to have that fits into frugal, organized living is the idea of Once a Month Cooking (OAMC).

The basic idea being take a couple days out of the month (or even one day a week), and doing lots of cooking and freezing it.

This works for me because I CAN cook and am pretty good at it, I just DON’T LIKE to cook. So, when I get in the mood to cook I better take advantage of it. Another plus to this is that I am on Weight Watchers® and MUST have healthy options at all times. I find if I get in a mood where I want to eat but don’t have something healthy to grab, I will grab something bad because it’s easy.

Another plus? Less processed food. I am trying very hard to stay away from “boxed” food as much as possible. So, while I could pop a Smart Ones® type meal in the microwave for a low point meal, it’s much better for my health to have something I prepared that’s not full of junk.

In this section of my blog I will be posting recipes that can be frozen for later use. Most of them will be Weight Watchers® friendly and I will try to have the nutrition information and Points Plus® values posted with the recipes.

So to get us started, here is a recipe I posted a few months ago for Pineapple-Honey Glazed Chicken. When I make this, I double, triple, or even quadruple the marinade. Then put each portion in a freezer zip bag and toss in the freezer. When we want to have this meal, in the morning I grab the marinade out, and my thawed chicken, put them all in a container in the fridge and let them go all day. Then just cook them for dinner.

The rice in this recipe can also be frozen, either in bulk or in individual portions. Then I just toss them in a bowl with a spoonful or two of water, put in the microwave just until warm through. Easy, peasy dinner!

Stay tuned for lots more freezer meal ideas!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.